Facebook: “All your content are belong to us”

I like my Facebook account a lot — I use it to keep in touch with friends I haven’t seen in a long time, and it’s a great way to keep up with what’s going on in their lives without needing pesky two-way communication. But I might rethink what I start putting on there considering their new terms of use. Such as:

You hereby grant Facebook an irrevocable, perpetual, non-exclusive, transferable, fully paid, worldwide license (with the right to sublicense) to (a) use, copy, publish, stream, store, retain, publicly perform or display, transmit, scan, reformat, modify, edit, frame, translate, excerpt, adapt, create derivative works and distribute (through multiple tiers), any User Content you (i) Post on or in connection with the Facebook Service or the promotion thereof subject only to your privacy settings or (ii) enable a user to Post, including by offering a Share Link on your website and (b) to use your name, likeness and image for any purpose, including commercial or advertising, each of (a) and (b) on or in connection with the Facebook Service or the promotion thereof.

That had actually been part of their terms of service before — with the exception that when you close your account, they give up rights to anything you may have posted. That’s not the case any more. So while I’ll continue to use my account, I’m probably not posting any more family photos, and certainly not videos or other content.

2 Comments

Filed under Facebook

2 responses to “Facebook: “All your content are belong to us”

  1. Marin Devine

    I think this is an incredibly poor decision by Facebook. The site can be a great hub for posting your content, but now (if I’m reading this correctly) they can even use content from a link you post? Bad social network.

  2. weirr

    Pretty much, yep. They can use any content of yours at any point. Although using photos of mine bugs me more than using content from links I post.

Leave a Reply

